Skip to content

Reflections

May 4, 2010

There are these large, highly mirrored lifts in my building and I’d really like to use them as a location for a photoshoot. I love playing with reflections and they could look great for something fashioney, particularly if you threw some flash into the mix.

But how to shoot in a space mirrored on all sides? Considering the practicalities raises some interesting questions. For instance, I’ve thought of giving the model(s) the camera, but then I wonder to what extent I could claim the pictures as mine. I could put it on a tripod and have it triggered automatically, but is that really much different? What makes a picture my picture?

Anyway, it’s a cool little location and I’m looking forward to finding an excuse to use it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2010 5:00 am

    Nice spot for pics. I always find reflections interesting.
    I guess what makes a picture YOUR picture is just you. If you claim to own the idea and the method being used and the angle and the scenery… well it’s you all the way, even if you’re using a tripod.
    Well, that’s what I think.

    You’re looking good here btw. Love the hair, pretty fun!

  2. May 5, 2010 8:19 am

    Ha, thanks. I need a haircut, I’m beginning to look like a La Roux tribute act.

  3. May 5, 2010 5:57 pm

    I was thinking in Bruce Almighty, but it’s definitely La Roux style lol

  4. Duncan permalink
    May 9, 2010 9:05 am

    I think if its your idea I think its your picture – it doesn’t matter who presses the button.

Leave a Reply

