Skip to content

10/365

January 11, 2010
tags: ,

I swear to gods, this is all I’ve done today: watch The Office. That is to say The American Office or as it’s retitled here, for reasons that mystify me, The Office: An American Workplace.

I now feel like an idiot for imagining that the US remake wouldn’t be brilliant. I think maybe some prejudice about the whole idea of a remake threw me. It’s brilliant, of course it’s brilliant.

Jan 10 - The Office

Yes, I do have a CRT TV with a wooden surround. What of it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Duncan King permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:25 am

    That’s interesting I did watch one episode and didn’t instantly warm to it. Isn’t the character who plays David Brent completely different? i.e. quite straight. I suppose I should expect something a little different and not just the same version with American accents. I’ll watch it again if I get the chance.

  2. January 11, 2010 11:46 am

    I think Steve Carell does a really good job, and – I think – his character is pretty faithful to the original, with the right balance of cringe and pathos. Much of the storyline and large chunks of the script are the same but with American accents, but the original material is spot-on in tone and there’s some great writing. Definitely worth another look.

Leave a Reply

