Skip to content

9/365

January 9, 2010
tags: ,

I bought Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 over Christmas, partly in an effort to be a real boy, but partly because I’ve enjoyed this sort of thing in the past (videogames in general and first person shooters in particular). Today was a hangover day so I thought I’d spend it killing people in scenarios that (I’m warned from the outset) I might find, not just disturbing, but offensive. (Of course upon being warned that I might find something offensive, I – along with, I’m fairly sure, everyone else – chose the ‘That’s fine’ option rather than the ‘Yeugh. I’ll skip that level please, why on earth would I want to be offended??’ option.)

Quite excited at this point, I got stuck into the ‘Special Ops’ – essentially the training levels. And fuck me it’s horrible. The cardboard cut-outs in the opening round of target practice terrify me as they lazily lurch out from behind oil barrels, leaving me wheeling about, gun chugging into the sky. By the time I got to the second level, where the targets actually fired back, I had to turn it off fearing a nervous breakdown.

I’m not sure what’s happened to me. Maybe I’m getting more sensitive in my old age. Maybe I got a previously undiagnosed case of PTSD in GoldenEye. Whatever the reason, it seems that videogames have reached the point where they’re too terrifyingly vivid for me to handle. And this is before I even get to the scenes that they feel a need to warn me about.

Jan 9 - White flag

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 10:06 pm

    OMG… I love this post!

  2. January 9, 2010 10:54 pm

    As soft as me I think. Operation Wolf was real enough.

  3. January 10, 2010 12:25 am

    So it’s not just me then? I get far too immersed in these things, Vegas 1 & 2 were bad enough for me. I end up with cramp in my fingers from the deathgrip I develop as the games move on. Fotunately there’s ‘Flower’ and suchlike for future endeavours. Gawdelpus.

  4. January 10, 2010 12:52 am

    Thing is, I’m not sure if it’s the games or me. I think I was more robust about this kind of thing as a child, and possibly I’d have been fine with this when I was younger. Makes me wonder about the 18 certificate on the box. Perhaps there should be an upper limit too, or they should let some under-30s rate it.

  5. erika molina permalink
    January 10, 2010 4:06 am

    What a coincidence, I just played that videogame last night for the first time!
    I gotta say I love those shooting games, dont know why. Watching my friends play I learned that you never go inside the room to shot, you always do it from outside or the guy in the corner will take you down as soon as you get in. I wasn’t remarcable i gotta say, but I enjoyed it.

    This was a funny post & I really liked the picture.

Leave a Reply

